Tuesday, February 12, 2013

The Five Love Languages

Last night's FHE about "The Five Love Languages" was GREAT!!  This is the biggest turn out to FHE that we've had since I've been in the ward! I'm so glad that so many were able to make it.   I've come to learn how powerful publicizing it can be! I'm so glad we had enough refreshments because I got worried half way through.  Thankfully we didn't have to take advantage of WalMart that's a mile away. 
Anyways, back to the Five Love Languages (by Gary Chapman), I think it's such fascinating topic.  Once, I had to teach it for a Family Foundation class for Pathways, and I couldn't be more grateful for it!
The Five Love Languages are:
Words of Affirmation:  Hearing "I love you", unsolicited compliments and kind words mean the world to you.  Insults [can leave you shattered and] are not easily forgotten.
Quality Time: You need full, undivided attention.  Distractions, postponed dates or the failure to listen can be especially hurtful.
Receiving Gifts: Thrives on the thoughts & reasons behind a gift.  A missed birthday or anniversary or a hasty/thoughtless gift would be disastrous.
Acts of Service: Eases the receiver's burdens of responsibility "Let me do that for you" speaks volumes.  Laziness, broken commitments & making more word for them tells them their feelings don't matter.
Physical Touch: Very touchy! Appreciates hugs, pats on the back, holding hands, thoughtful touches on the arm, shoulder, face, etc.  This shows care, concern & love.  Neglect or abuse can be unforgivable & destructive. 

I really like learning about the love languages.  I think there's so much to learn about it and how different people in our lives "communicate".  I've come to understand my parents a little bit more because I think I've figured out their language.  Before my love language was "Quality Time" which made sense as to how much I desired and thrived on time, spent in person, with my family and friends.  A few months ago my 'language' changed to, "Acts of Service" and I could see how that applied to my home life.  These days, my 'language' is "Words of Affirmation" and I would never have thought that would ever be my 'love language', but it somehow is.  Reflecting back on the last few weeks, I can see how it's developed into that.  Nothing makes me feel more special & loved than when Levi compliments my straight hair, or cuteness or just whispers, "I love you"....I LOVE that oh so much!!!!! I also love when my niece and sister notice and compliment something I'm wearing or something else special about me.  I've also noticed how much I like to sincerely tell others how I feel about them. As nice as that is, I need to observe what their love language is and communicate accordingly.
Learning the love languages takes time, but applying them to personal relationships can be so worth it! I suggest you try it!

No comments:

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...